ARCA’S FIRST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, as a registered society, was held on May 30th at the Arbutus Village Recreation Centre.  A new executive was elected: Marion Boyle, Doreen Braverman, Afton Cayford, Michael Cha, Marie Clarke, Jim Finch, Bill Haberl, Kary McGavin, and Ron Pickerill.  Josie Timewell and Jason Zheng, who were on last year’s executive, were thanked for their contribution of time and effort to our community. The highlight of the meeting was the awarding of life memberships to three of our most dedicated members: Virginia Alexandor, Barbara Speirs, and Max Wideman. Virginia and Max were present to accept their awards.  Barbara was not able to attend. A panel of three representatives from Vancouver neighbourhoods gave us their advice on how ARCA could best represent the community with City Hall.  Jane Ingman-Baker, from the Dunbar Residents Association (DRA), Stephen Bohus, from Residents Association of Mount Pleasant (RAMP) and Sinisa Vujovic, from West End Neighbours, led a lively discussion on how their associations have dealt with City Hall.  There was consensus amongst the panelists that land-use decisions are the chief concerns of residents and it is important for ARCA to reach out to other community groups for guidance on how to effect change. The AGM minutes and the panel discussion are posted on our website  

YOUR EXECUTIVE MEETS MONTHLY  At our last meeting in June, Sarita Zugazaga was welcomed as a new member of the executive. If you have any issues or concerns that you want us to discuss, please let us know.




REMINDER to pay your 2012/3 ARCA fees.  Contact Marie Clarke 604-263-5086 [email protected] or Doreen Braverman 604-263-6051 [email protected]